10th NASS: Cyril Fasuyi,  Other 23 Senators Yet to Sponsor Bill in One Year

As the Nigerian Senate approaches its one-year mark since inauguration on June 13, 2023, an analysis of the legislative activity of its members reveals a mixed picture.

google.com, pub-3822032484198406, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0


While the majority of the 109 senators have been actively engaged in sponsoring bills, a concerning number – 24 out of the total – have not sponsored a single bill in the 10 months between July 2023 and March 2024.


The most active lawmakers include Senate Majority Leader Opeyemi Bamidele, who has sponsored 23 bills, and Deputy Senate President Barau Jibrin, who has sponsored 17 bills. Other notable contributors include Sani Musa with 8 bills and Olamilekan Adeola with 7 bills.


Interestingly, 9 out of the 13 former state governors currently serving as senators have sponsored at least one bill, with Orji Uzor Kalu leading the pack with 5 bills. However, some ex-governors like Adams Oshiomhole, Abdulaziz Yari and Henry Seriake Dickson have not sponsored any bills.


The list of senators who have yet to sponsor any bills includes high-profile names such as Ahmad Lawan, Victor Umeh and Oluwole Fasuyi Cyril.


As the Senate celebrates its first year in office, this analysis of legislative activity sheds light on the varying levels of engagement among its members. It remains to be seen whether the inactive senators will step up their efforts in the coming year to fulfill their primary duty of lawmaking.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *