LP reserves 2027 presidential, governorship tickets for Peter Obi, Otti

The Labour Party, LP, has announced its decision to reserve its tickets for the 2027 general elections for its presidential candidate in the 2023 election, Peter Obi, and the current governor of Abia State, Alex Otti. The party made this announcement in a communique circulated after its convention on Wednesday. The communique, signed by National Chairman Julius Abure and National Secretary Alhaji Umar Farouk Ibrahim, also called on President Bola Tinubu to address the growing issues of insecurity and inflation in the country.

google.com, pub-3822032484198406, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0

According to the communique, the decision to reserve the 2027 Presidential ticket for Peter Obi was based on his performance before, during, and after the 2023 General Election. Similarly, the convention reviewed the ongoing development and performance of Governor Alex Otti in Abia State and passed a vote of confidence in him, recommending that the party’s 2027 gubernatorial ticket for Abia State be reserved for him.

The communique also addressed the state of the nation, highlighting that it is not simply about attaining power but rather about what is done with that power. It expressed concern over the worsening security situation, with a significant increase in the loss of lives, as well as the deteriorating economy and living conditions of Nigerians. The party called on President Bola Ahmed Tinubu to take immediate and proactive measures to address these issues, revive the economy, and promote growth and development.

The Labour Party assured its members across the country of a promising and bright future. It expressed appreciation for the unwavering support received during the 2023 General Election and beyond. The convention encouraged all groups to integrate their structures at the ward, local, and national levels into the existing party structure now that the elections are over.

During the convention, several national officers were elected, including Deputy National Chairman Mr. Clement Ojukwu, Deputy National Chairman Dr. Ayo Olunrufemi, National Vice Chairman North Central Abraham Idoko, National Vice Chairman South East Ceekay Igara, National Vice Chairman South South Anthony C. Ezeagwu, National Secretary Alhaji Umar Farouk Ibrahim, Deputy National Secretary Rotimi Kehinde Adekunle, and Deputy National Secretary Innocent Okeke, among others.

However, three positions, namely Deputy National Chairman (NLC), Deputy National Chairman (TUC), and Deputy National Chairman, were left unfilled. The communique empowered the National Working Committee (NWC) to fill these vacancies in the NWC and NEC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *