Ondo APC Guber Primary: Aiyedatiwa Declared Winner

Governor Lucky Aiyedatiwa emerged as the winner of the highly contested governorship primary of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ondo State. The primary election, held on Sunday, saw Governor Aiyedatiwa secure a total of 48,569 votes, according to Governor Usman Ododo of Kogi State, who chaired the 2024 APC Governorship Primary Election Committee.

google.com, pub-3822032484198406, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0

The results announced were from 17 out of the 18 local government areas of the state. However, in Ifedore Local Government Area, the returning officer, Chief Oliver Okpala, revealed that there was no election due to a dangerous situation. He and his team narrowly escaped an attack by angry residents, but were rescued by security operatives.

Despite the disclosure by Chief Oliver Okpala, Governor Usman Ododo maintained that the election took place in all 18 local government areas of the state. The total number of voters was reported to be 171,922, with 95,178 accredited voters and valid votes cast amounting to 95,178.

The breakdown of the votes showed Omoboba John receiving 490 votes, Omogoroye Judith with 115 votes, Lucky Aiyedatiwa securing 48,569 votes, Kekemeke with 1045 votes, Eyinlanwo with 492 votes, Gbenga Edema with 395 votes, Jimoh Ibrahim with 9456 votes, Waheed-Adekojo with 529 votes, Akinfolarin with 15,343 votes, Wale Akinterinwa with 1952 votes, Olusola Oke with 14,915 votes, Ohunyeye with 424 votes, Morayo Lebi with 290 votes, Iyantan with 348 votes, Francis Faduyile with 353 votes, and Ifeoluwa Oyedele with 462 votes.

Governor Lucky Aiyedatiwa’s victory in the primary election sets the stage for his candidacy in the upcoming gubernatorial election in Ondo State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *