PDP sweeps council polls

THE Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has won the eight local government chairmanship positions in the Saturday council polls in Bayelsa State.

google.com, pub-3822032484198406, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0

It also won all the legislative seats in the 105 wards across the state.

The main opposition, All Progressives Congress, APC, and Labour Party, LP  shunned the exercise, which was conducted by the Bayelsa State Independent Electoral Commission, BYSIEC.

It was the first local government elections to be held under the Senator Douye Diri-led administration.

Announcing the result in Ogbia Local Government Area, the Returning Officer, Dr. Godric Deinduomo, declared  Golden Jeremiah of PDP winner after polling a total of 42,462 votes.

In Southern Ijaw LGA, the Returning Officer, Dr. Ebi Udisi, declared  Target Segibo of PDP, a pioneer member of the state House of Assembly winner of the election after he polled a total of 36,326 votes.

In Ekeremor LGA, Onniye Isaac of the PDP, also a pioneer member of the state House of Assembly, polled a total of 35,177 votes and was declared winner of the election by the Returning Officer, Prof. Joseph Omoro, while Sagbama Local Government Area, Mrs. Alice  Tangi of PDP polled a total of 51,543 votes to win the contest.

In Kolokuma-Opokuma Local Government Area, Leilei Tariye of  PDP was declared winner after polling a total of 27,823 votes, while  Bulodisiye Ndiwari was declared as the Mayor of Yenagoa LGA by the returning officer, Chief Wisdom Soreh, after polling 56,103.

In Nembe council, David Alagoa of PDP scored 11,829 votes and was declared winner while Lucky Febo also of PDP was declared winner for Brass LGA, with 35,709 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *