Edo 2024: Shaibu’s Name Missing As Ighodalo, Akpata, Okpebholo, Others Make INEC List

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) recently released the list of candidates for the upcoming September 21 governorship election in Edo State. However, the name of the Deputy Governor, Philip Shaibu, was notably absent from the list.

google.com, pub-3822032484198406, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0

The list, displayed publicly at the INEC state office in Benin City and across all 18 local government area offices, features candidates from 17 political parties. Among the contenders are Ighodalo Asuerinme of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Okpebholo Monday of the All Progressives Congress (APC), and Olumide Akpata of the Labour Party (LP).

The list includes candidates from other parties as well, such as Boot Party (BP), Accord party (AP), African Democratic Congress (ADC), People Redemption Party (PRP), and Young Progressive Party (YPP), among others. Each party has put forward its candidate for the governorship position.

According to Timidi Wariowei, the state INEC head of voters education and publicity, the display of the candidates’ particulars is in accordance with the electoral law. This allows parties and the public to access and review the information about the candidates and their running mates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *